the songs


Nothin’s Botherin’ Me


Following up on her “Dusty Bottle” album, Kylie Castle wanted to bring a little of the variety she delivers in a live concert to her listeners…

  1. Old Time Lovin’ – even in today’s busy world we hold on to what’s good and enjoy the simple things –for a little taste of Old Time Lovin’
  2. They Sang Amazing Grace – “I was asked to sing for an ANZAC Day memorial and as I gazed around at those present, I was touched by the number of women standing alone – they each have their own story… This song is a reminder that those who stand for our great country are not just soldiers – they are people with a history and a family” – lest we forget!
  3. Ain’t Necessarily So – with a blusey influence this has been a favourite over the years
  4. Rock Me Baby – when she first started out playing in pubs, Kylie decided she wanted some originals added to her songlist
  5. So Lazily – Australia is a dry continent and this bouncy ballad is in celebration of her rivers
  6. I’ll Keep You Safe – laid back and blusey, this catchy gospel song is usually interpreted as a love song
  7. Cheatin’ Teasin’ Temptress – influenced by old western movies this story seems to dance around the fringes of a gypsy camp
  8. Under the Belah Trees (Gidgee Coal Bush Ballad Award – Female Vocal 2017) – (belah is a sheoak tree found in brigalow scrub) traditional Australian bush ballads are an important part of our culture as are those who have gone before us – in tribute to Banjo Patterson and the wonderful legacy he left us with…


  9. You’d Still be Mine – forever is still possible
  10. Boogie Sway and Swing – throw musicians in a room and let them kick back and relax
  11. Nothin’s Botherin’ Me – in memory of the old campfire crooners, Kylie reminisces – heading out to muster on a station in Australia’s beautiful Kimberly region




Thank-you to Bradley Bergen (drums) Ian Lees (bass) Tim Crouch (fiddle) Garry Steele (piano accordion & piano) Michel Rose (dobro, mandolin & pedal steel) Camille Te Nahu (backing vocals) Stuie French (all guitars, backing vocals, production, arrangement, recording & mixing) Jeff McCormack (mastering) Nic Commino (album graphics)





Debut album – DUSTY BOTTLE  

Kylie Castle CD cover art

Kylie Castle was inspired to write her first song on hearing of the passing of Slim Dusty in 2003. During the last ten years, she has gone on to write many songs, twelve of which have been recorded on her album ‘DUSTY BOTTLE

1. Dusty Bottle – a delightfully bouncy number, reminding us playfully, that the quality of a person does not diminish with age (winner of the ‘Daryl Kirkup Award 2014‘ [CRS Publishing] at the Tamworth Songwriter’s Association Awards in Tamworth)  a taste of ‘Dusty Bottle’

2. Cloudy Days – the old image that cloudy days symbolize sadness is dismissed with this tender classically country styled song

3. A Settler’s Wife (Gidgee Coal Bush Ballad Awards – Female Vocal 2014) (finalist in TSA/APRA New Songwriter Award 2014)  – the Australian landscape is far removed from early settler’s homelands… a snippet of ‘A Settler’s Wife’

GC 3 - Copy - Copy - Copy

4. Will You be Far Behind – this song is in memory of a wonderful lady who endured the loss of her husband and later battled alzheimer’s disease

5. Lazy Hazy Day – sitting on a beach thinking of how good life currently is – produced this quirky song

6. Some People I’ll Never Forget – a bit of fun – Australia is filled with so many unique characters

7. Ropin’ the Wind (finalist in TSA/APRA New Songwriter Award 2014) – selling the family farm can be so heartbreaking – maybe it’s a new day for another family

8. Bow Our Heads – suicide affects too many people – written after talking to a man who had buried two loved ones in six months

9. Tell the Stars – sassy, smooth & bluesy

10. Draftin’ Gate Boogie – drafting large numbers of cattle is definitely a skill – no time to snooze as you dance the draftin’ gate boogie

11. The Friend I’ve Never Met (my tribute to Slim Dusty) (Gidgee Coal Bush Ballad Awards – Female Vocal 2015) – songs recorded by Slim Dusty have been a constant throughout Kylie’s life

November 2015 Gidgee w John Staunton - Copy


12. Leavin’ Meroondah – for her brother – what an overwhelming spectacle Australia painted that morning – one never to be forgetten

tamworth pink

Thank-you to Brad Bergan (drums) Ian Lees (bass) Mick Albeck (fiddle) Garry Steele (piano accordion & piano) Michel Rose (dobro & pedal steel) Camille Te Nahu (backing vocals) Stuie French (all guitars, backing vocals, production, arrangement, recording & mixing) Jeff McCormack (mastering) Nic Commino (album graphics) Kym Carson (encouragement) family & friends (support)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s